Prisma Auth0 Directive Permissions Example

Building off Prisma’s Instagram clone demo, I made the following repo to match the permissions tutorial requirements (without the roles, but that would be trivial to add)

I’m using a middleware pattern where I first check the authorization token. If it’s invalid, a 401 is thrown and the request stops. If it is valid, the next middleware puts the User type onto the request object. And if there’s no token, the middleware passes with user = null.

I’m not an expert and just put this demo together as a learning experience. If it sucks or I did something wrong, or you know a better / more secure pattern, please speak up!

Demo Video

I just updated my example / starter repo to include the new fangled directive permissions!

What’s that?

You decorate your schema with custom directives, e.g.

directive @hasRole(roles: [String]) on QUERY | FIELD | MUTATION
directive @isOwner(type: String) on QUERY | MUTATION
directive @isAuthenticated on QUERY | FIELD | MUTATION
directive @isOwnerOrHasRole(type: String, roles: [String]) on QUERY | MUTATION

type Query {
  feed: [Post!]!
  drafts: [Post!]! @isAuthenticated
  post(id: ID!): Post @isOwnerOrHasRole(type: "Post", roles: ["ADMIN"])
  me: User @isAuthenticated
}

And then you have a set of “directive resolvers” to implement the logic! e.g.

const directiveResolvers = {
hasRole: (next, source, { roles }, ctx) => {
    const { role } = isLoggedIn(ctx)
    if (roles.includes(role)) {
      return next()
    }
    throw new Error(`Unauthorized, incorrect role`)
  }
}

How do we implement this in Yoga? Using graphql-tools and graphql-import… Simple!

const schema = makeExecutableSchema({
  typeDefs: importSchema("./src/schema.graphql"),
  resolvers,
  directiveResolvers
})

const server = new GraphQLServer({
  schema,
  context: req => ({
    ...req,
    db
  })
})

The brilliance is its flexibility. Need to get more granular?