Using multiple GraphQL servers with one, shared service

prisma

Hello Prisma forum! :slightly_smiling_face:

I’m fairly new to Prisma ecosystem and I’m just trying it out and checking if it can be a fit for a project I’m working on. So far I’ve played around with graphql-yoga and prisma-bindings and I love how easy it is to have them working together. Great stuff!

For the upcoming project my infrastructure will consist of two different server side API’s with different business logic. However, both of them will be connected to one dataset with same data. What I would imagine would be the solution is to create two graphql-yoga servers, connect them through prisma-bindings to 1 service = profit!

As far as I understand I have to have prisma-binding’s for each API, which means I need to maintain data models + database schema in both API’s. Obviously, it’s not ideal and co go out of sync very quickly and preferable solution would be to extract that somehow.

Is there any tool or approach which could help me maintaining one database schema which then i could connect two different API’s?

Thanks in advance!

Hey @wojciech and welcome to the Prisma Forum :wave:

You can connect many GraphQL Yoga servers to the same Prisma API.
Whenever you change the datamodel of your Prisma service, you need to regenerate the Prisma bindings that is used in your GraphQL Yoga servers.

You can run graphql get-schema and/or graphql codegen to do so. Here is a simple example that uses post deployment hooks to run these commands: https://github.com/prismagraphql/prisma/tree/master/examples/hooks

You don’t have to use hooks, you can also run the commands directly.
You will need to adjust the example to your setup with multiple GraphQL Yoga servers :slight_smile:

Hi @nilan, I’m sorry to follow up with a different but related question. Is it possible to connect one GraphQL Yoga server with multiple Prisma APIs? Thanks.